The G.J. Jackson Fellowship is awarded annually in memory of the late Geoffrey Jackson. Mr. Jackson was for many years a leader in the Canadian structural steel fabrication industry and was a founding member of the Steel Structures Education Foundation (SSEF). This prestigious award is currently valued at $20,000 over a one year period and is presented annually to an engineering student who, in the following academic year, will be registered in the first to fourth year of full-time graduate studies in structural engineering, with major emphasis on the study of steel structures. The award, presented at the CISC Annual Convention, is commemorated with the G.J. Jackson Memorial Certificate.

Geoffrey James Jackson was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire, England, February 25, 1929.  After receiving a Diploma in Civil Engineering in 1954, he emigrated to Canada.  He was devoted to the improvement of the structural steel industry in Canada. Mr. Jackson served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Institute of Steel Construction from 1962 and was Chairman from 1976 to 1978.  He was also a long-time member of the Board of the Canadian Steel Construction Council; Chairman of the Interim Board of Governors of the Steel Structures Education Foundation; and served on the Board until his death on August 31, 1986.

Jackson Recipients, Posters and Rules by Year 

List of Recipients from 1988 to date (PDF)


Originally initiated by SSEF as a pilot project in 2005 to recognize high levels of scholarship in Steel Design by students of architecture, CISC now provides a $3,000 grant to almost every school or faculty of architecture across Canada for scholarships of their choosing. These scholarships go to those students who have demonstrated outstanding work in the area of Steel Design. The division and precise criteria for the award is developed by the individual School and Faculty/Administration.


Several regions provide bursaries at the undergraduate and graduate level:
Alberta Post Graduate Scholarship Award ($15,000)
Central Region Post Graduate Scholarship Award ($10,000)
Ontario University Scholarship Awards ($2,000)

Contact your regional manager or representative for more details.


Both Alberta and British Columbia have successful programs for engineering students:
BC Student Co-op Program
Alberta Student Co-op Program

Contact your regional manager or representative for more details.